Into the Silence

It’s not long since my last post but I’m keen to have a more uplifting message “out there”. Although this poem was written seven years ago it still speaks to me and is appropriate on another level as I’m off to a meditation class tonight.

There is another reason for using this poem because it has a scriptural allusion, and I feel that it is useful to mine the spiritual truths that are often hidden or overlooked in some of the sacred books of our religions.

Into the Silence

In the silence there is surrender… a letting go…

a turning over of things to God.

.

I let go of my busy life. I let go of all the things that “matter”.

I sit still… and I just am…

I listen to the things of which I’m “normally”unaware.

I listen to the rhythms of my breathing.

.

With each breath I go deeper… and deeper… into the stillness.

Deeper into my centre… deeper into my heart.

.

My heart feels like it is the centre of the Universe… and it is…

For all things are connected… all things are united…

all things are one.

.

Into the stillness I go.  It is a journey of no distance,

but it is as far as anyone can go:

for I have gone from the realm of separation and limited identity –

which is not real – into the world where everything is one.

.

I have stepped from the world of time… into the everlasting Now.

.

Stillness… It has all been said before:

              “Be still and know that I am God”.                                        (Psalm 46:10)

.

God bless.

Thanks for your interest and support.  In the near future I will post a poem “Spirituality and Religion” to build on some of the themes of my posts so far.  I will also be talking about choosing “supposespiritualblog” as the name of this site.  But, that’s enough for now.

Enjoy your journey and don’t forget to stop and smell the roses. Be kind and true to your principles.

In love and light,

Alan

Leave a Reply

