I Have All I Need

It has been too long since my last post and I apologize if anyone has been disappointed (or even noticed).  I could make excuses and say I have been very busy, but the truth is I just haven’t prioritized this blog sufficiently.  I can’t say I haven’t had the time for “I have all I need”.

It’s interesting that I had been wondering about which poem I should post and I had decided to go with this one. When I opened up my site to write I was greeted with an ad for a post titled “Give me meatloaf”.  Certainly, the universe or the divine or God, is abounding with synchronous connection and humour.

I should point out that this poem was written eight and a half years ago, and I have moved twice since then. Hopefully it still has some relevance.

I Have All I Need

I have enough.  I have all I need.

I would like more, but I am not ready,

for I do not appreciate everything I have.

.

I have a roof over my head. It may be a little mouldy,

and peeling in places, but it keeps me warm on these cold, winter nights.

It keeps out the rain and the wind.  I do not have to huddle around fires,

or under bridges to survive.

Thank you for the roof over my head.

.

I have enough food to eat, brought from countries all round the world.

I can eat different foods each day of the week, if I choose.

And I have enough.  Sometimes I have to go into debt,

to pay for my groceries, but I always have enough to eat.

.

Let me never say “I’m starving” again.

Let me remember those people who really are starving.

They are often living in refugee camps and fleeing natural or man-made disasters.

Let me be grateful for the abundance I already have.

.

Have you noticed how often many of these people smile…

grateful to be alive… grateful for the smallest of gifts,

or the simplest act of kindness.

It is humbling.

.

Almighty God,

Help me to remember all the things I have.

Help me to remember, that I have nothing to complain about.

Help me to be grateful.

Help me to cultivate an attitude of gratitude.

.

Help me to be willing to share my belongings, as so many others are already doing.

Help me to appreciate the things that are really important in life.

.

So what if I do not have a recordable DVD player, or an up-to-date car.

I have life.  I have shelter.

I have family and friends who love me.

All my needs are being met.

.

God, help me to appreciate all these gifts…

for I am truly blessed.

And when I do fully appreciate the things I have,

I can stop wasting my time and my thoughts,

in idle speculation and dreaming.

I can get on with living my life in the way I know I should:

living simply, with a smile on my face

and helping others who are less fortunate.

.

As the old saying goes:

“When someone needs a smile… give them one of yours.”

For a smile can be infectious…

and perhaps, one day… we will all be infected.

.

God Bless.

Thanks for reading.  I am endeavouring to post blogs at least weekly, and hopefully bi-weekly from now on.

May the divine walk with you and take you to where you need to be.  Go with the divine flow, always.

Alan

Leave a Reply

