Reopening a Door

Greetings and good wishes.

Here’s another overdue installment of my spiritual poetry.  I do need to keep this fairly brief as I am still using one of the local library’s computers.

The following poem was written in 2013.  Any references to my painting are greatly overstated in their significance.  I am or was a dabbler at the very best.  Still it is a great pleasure to be creative in whatever manner.

I hope you have lots of creative outlets and are keeping as many doors open as possible.  I hope you enjoy this offering.

 

Reopening a Door

 

Painting again…  and now writing too.

How I’ve missed these activities…  even the painting.

 

I feel my spirit coming alive…

a fanning of the flames of excitement.

I feel a stillness, and a calm, reverberating, inside me…

I feel a connection to the Peace, outside me.

 

It’s as if I’ve opened a cobweb-covered door…

that should never have been closed.

 

My painting, “Watching the Darkness” lies before me.

I want to shout out: “Let there be Light”…

for there is too much darkness on this planet…

here in this town… and in my heart…

 

for I do not look after my heart…

I do not keep it vibrant… and excited.

I allow doors to close…

and to slowly be covered with cobwebs…

 

I forget to dust my mind, and my soul.

It’s as if I have a beautiful motor vehicle which I am locking in a garage,

and using sporadically, and without attention and care,

and mindfulness.

 

Perhaps, today will remind me that I have a beautiful heart…

and remind me to look after it…

Remind me of the things that are important…

the things that make life worth living…

and each day, so very precious.

 

I am a buffoon… chasing after foolishness…

and squandering the treasures, and the delights,

that lie in the simple pleasures of living in “the moment”…

in the stillness…  and in the eternal flow.

 

I am so blessed…

 

with great Love,

Alan

 

 

Treat yourself with Love and kindness, and allow the Divine flow to guide you in all things.

In love and light

Alan

Leave a Reply

